Congratulations to the Winners of the 2018 WARA Fellowship Competition!!

WARA is happy announce the following winners of the 2018 WARA Fellowship competition:

Post-doctoral Fellowship
  • Connor Ryan (University of the West Indies) “`Lagos Never Spoils’: Nollywood and Nigerian Media Urbanism.”
  • Anima Adjepong (Simmons College) “From `little Lagos’ to Accra’s Artist Scene.”
Pre-doctoral Fellowship
  • Alfredo Rojas (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill) “Moral Agriculture: Environmental Change, Society and Local Food Production in Niamasso Ivory Coast.”
  • Ryan Carty (Michigan State University) “Trading Technologies: Hausa Communities in a Borderland, 1850-1914.”
  • Janice Levi (University of California, Los Angeles) “Whispers in the West: The Emergence of a Jewish Community in 20th century Ghana.”
  • Tyler Hook (University of Wisconsin, Madison) “The Corporation and the Community: Local Stakeholders Engagement with International Corporate School Management Chains in Liberia.”
  • Andrea Walther-Puri (Tufts Fletcher School) “Measuring the Impact of U.S. Military Counter-Terrorism Assistance in West Africa.”
Residency Fellowship
  • Nonso Obikili (American University) to conduct a large-scale study of taxation in Lagos at American University.
WARC Library Fellow
  • Justin Miller (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign) for summer fellowship at the WARC Library in Dakar.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s